Are Hot Cheetos Halal?

Affiliate Disclaimer

freezingflame.com.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. We are compensated for referring traffic and business to Amazon and other companies linked to on this site.

Hot Cheetos aren’t halal since they contain cheese made with animal extracts. However, the ingredients for the snack vary around the world, and you can find halal Cheetos in many Arabic countries. 

Spicy Hot Cheetos are commonly mistaken for being halal. 

Contrary to what many believe, Hot Cheetos aren’t even vegetarian. They use ingredients derived from animals that make the snack not permissible by the Holy Quran.

This article answers some common FAQs regarding if Cheetos are halal. We have also researched to find you some alternatives as delicious as Cheetos.

What Makes Hot Cheetos Not Halal?

Cheddar cheese and whey in the Hot Cheetos make the food haram.

Frito-Lay, the company that makes Cheetos, has reported using an animal enzyme called Rennet to coddle the milk for cheese and whey.

Rennet is found in animals’ stomachs, including lambs, goats, pigs, and calves. Furthermore, the animals must be killed to extract the enzyme.

Since Frito-Lay has never said they slaughter cattle as per halal guidelines, we can be sure that their product isn’t halal.

The Red Food Color in Cheetos

The aggressive red color of the snack comes from a dye known as Red #40. There is a common misconception that this food color is derived from bugs, but that couldn’t be further from the truth.

Red #40 is extracted from petroleum, which hasn’t any reference to being haram. On the other hand, it’s actually Natural Red # 4 that uses cochineal bug, and there’s no evidence that Frito-Lay uses this dye in their products.

Are Kosher Cheetos Halal?

Like Muslims, Judaists have some guidelines regarding their diets and the type of meat they use, known as Kosher.

As per Kosher, meat should only come from animals with split hooves, including lamb, cow, or mutton. Pork isn’t allowed.

Some US stores have started importing Kosher Cheetos from abroad, and this has got people wondering if they are Halal.

Well, the answer is that Kosher isn’t completely Halal. Animals don’t necessarily need to grow in their natural habitat to be Kosher, and the God’s (Allah’s) name may not be chanted while slaughtering them, both of which are requirements for meat to be Halal.

Check out this YouTube video that shows how Cheetos are made.

Are Cheetos Jalapeno Halal?

While researching the web, we found some websites claiming that Cheetos Jalapeno is halal since it only uses milk-based enzymes.

However, we have found no claims made from PepsiCo or Frito-Lays regarding this.

Furthermore, if the company didn’t use animal extracts for this product, they would naturally have marketed it as halal at least once.

Thus, the bottom line is that Cheetos Jalapeno isn’t Halal.

Are Flamin Cheetos Halal? 

Unfortunately, Flamin Cheetos isn’t halal. It has been mentioned clearly in its ingredients list that the product contains cheddar cheese, made with the help of animal enzymes. 

The enzyme referred to is known as rennet and can only be extracted from an animal’s stomach after butchering it.

Do Hot Cheetos Have Pork?

Frito-Lay has specifically published a list of products manufactured and distributed in the USA that doesn’t contain pork.

As per the list, about twenty variations of Cheetos don’t have pork, including five Cheetos Hot products.

But as you can see, the list is only for products sold in the USA. Cheetos manufactured in other countries can have pork extracts, and thus, you may need to call the local division of Frito-Lay or PepsiCo (the parent company of Frito-Lay) to know if the Cheetos in your country has pork.

Is Cheetos Halal in Pakistan?

The good news for Muslims in Pakistan is that Cheetos is 100% Halal in the country. 

The Pakistan Division of PepsiCo has stated on its website that its products have been vetted by Sanha Halal Associated Private Limited, a government-approved Halal certification body.

While there have been some controversies regarding this matter, it has been found that most of the non-halal Cheetos have been imported from abroad, mainly from the USA.

Hence, before enjoying your favorite flaming snack, it’s good to look at the back of the packet and verify that it has been made in Pakistan and not imported to the country.

Some Alternatives to Cheetos that Are Halal

While becoming halal limits your snack options, it doesn’t mean you won’t find an alternative. Here are some other snacks that are halal and may be able to fulfill your craving for a Cheetos:

Lays Classic

Lays classic is the best ‘unhealthy’ snack for a Halal diet. The ingredients are very straightforward; potatoes, vegetable oil, and salt, all of which are permitted by the Holy Quran.

Kurkure

Kurkure is one of the most popular snacks in the Indian subcontinent. The shape and the taste of this food closely resemble that of Cheetos, and the best part of it is that it’s 100% vegetarian. 

Kurkure is made by Frito-Lays India and is available in many countries worldwide, including the USA, UK, and Europe. Furthermore, there are many flavor options, and honestly, they may be more than enough to replace Cheetos.

Snackcity Chillz Chatpata Potato Snacks

Snackcity Chillz Chatpata Potato Snacks is one of the direct competitors of Cheetos in Pakistan, so there’s no doubt they taste great. 

Coming from a Muslim country, it’s only natural that they are Halal. And because of their popularity, Snackcity Chillz is readily found in most Indian and Pakistani groceries in the USA, UK, and Europe.

Hippeas Puffs

Hippeas Puff isn’t a mainstream product but must be mentioned given how good they taste, even though they are completely vegan. 

Made with chickpeas, organic sunflower oil, and organic condiments, Hippeas Puffs aren’t only halal but are healthier than Cheetos. 

FAQs Regarding Are Hot Cheetos Halal

Which Cheetos are Halal?

Most of the Cheetos found in Pakistan, Malaysia, and the Arab countries are Halal. Halal Cheetos should specifically mention ‘Halal-Certified’ on their packaging.